The Holders

The Holders (Holders, #1)The Holders by Julianna Scott

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Warning! This review is going to contain spoilers. But the good thing is, it won’t really matter because everything in this book is bloody obvious.

Finally, a guy who blushes! One of the few saving graces that kept me from dumping that sole star upon the Holders.

The story follows… I’m sure you guys can read the blurb.

Sounds promising, right? It isn’t.

My main problem was, the world of these “Holders” is too simple. Too cliched. Reminded me a lot of X-men. So there’s this guy Professor XJocelyn(it is) a guy. And then there’s MagnetoDaraagh and as fate will have it, or Julianna Scott will, they both were acquaintances once. Now, these X-men“Holders” have special powers
not granted to them by mutation, but because, apparently, the Irish Gods are biased. So MagnetoDaraagh believes that they, being far more capable of passing the SATs by cheating and with more odds in their if they ever step in the Arena, are far superior than your average humans. He wants to put usyou guys in our your places. And Professor XJocelyn believes that no, we are all similar(when the “Holders” are obviously the apex predator!) and is on a mission to stop MagnetoDaraagh and is also the head of a school for the X-men“Holders”. Sounds familiar, right? But even then, there is no conflict, no drama, no shit beyond this “evil”*. Admittedly, she has done her homework with all Irish mythology and stuff, but only just. And it’s not to my satisfaction. The world-building is very much fragile.

Also, most of the characters are all so one-dimensional- yes, he’s funny and she’s nice so they’re not “evil” but he’s a jackass so- whoops major spolier! And Chloe- God! I’m sick of these extremely perky, always happy, dreamy, extra nice best friends who start hugging with barely even two conversations, right after one day of meeting you. Give me Angela Montgomery any day, anytime! Can’t she at least humanize herself just a tad bit y lowering herself to our your level by displaying any negative emotion.

Basically, all characters are pretty damn transparent except for maybe JeanBecca and Professor XJocelyn to some extent. My main obsession with this book was the guy, ScottAlex, not because I like him but because he actually blushes- like all the time. Although, beyond that he’s not really that interesting.

And the predictability of the book! I knew what was gonna happen two or sometimes five chapters before it did- not that I counted(actually I did). And I am probably not gonna win the next clarity award, so draw your own conclusions.

However, I must admit during the last chapters, when the action sequence starts I was a wee bit enraptured.

While it might seem that it is rather diverse from the other YA books with a protagonist who doesn’t have special powers(not in the beginning) and is basically a sidekick(which would have been cool if it stayed as such and probably would have earned this book a better rating from me) and not enrolled in the special academy for X-menHolders, The Holders is not much different, not really.

Also, what is UP with this character being so clingy and reading like a 39-year old psychiatrist(or is it psychologist) at times, and at others like a lovesick teen(which upon reflection I realize, she actually is)? I know, I know it is mentioned in the book- the cause of her mama-bear affection and “maturity” but heck, I have a brother the same age and half the time, I want to kick his ass all the way to Malibu and he isn’t as dumb and naive. So this book, in parts is her “anxiety-diary” for her brother and love interest.

This book might work for less reserved readers but it so wasn’t written for me.

*See how I put evil in quotes? that’s because I feel it’s one of the most useless adjectives. Vacant, really.

A copy was provided by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for this review.

doodle-230-mushu-attitude

View all my reviews

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

