Winter’s Passage

Winter's Passage (Iron Fey, #1.5)Winter’s Passage by Julie Kagawa

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

As can be gleaned from the fact that it’s marked Iron Fey 1.5, Winter’s Passage is a short account of events that transpire between The Iron King and The Iron Daughter. Ash is upholding his vow and Meghan her end of the contract that she made with the Winter Prince in The Iron King and this novella basically relates their journey from Meghan’s home to Tir Na Nog, where Queen Mab awaits her.

As before, the world of the Fey is enchanting and magical(obviously). I adore the way she writes and her the world she’s created. I always love retelling and while this one is not my favorite take on faeries(that place is owned by Fever), it would be one I’m willing to return to despite the litany of useless characters. Which reminds me, Meghan Chase could you be anymore useless?!


You know you are useless when a guy in fringes tells you so.

Really, she just stands there throughout the novel and whines that ash is not paying her enough attention. What ze fuck?

And the whole hunter thing? So Julie Kagawa basically tells us there’s a something-or-other-that-Ash-calls-the-Hunter is following them and then Ooooowwwwwwwww! there’s a howl and look- there he is! The big, ugly, wolf-y thing that goes on to boast how he is unbeatable and shit and you think some stuff is going to happen and bleh! he walks away- for a very inane reason, me thinks.

And what exactly was le point of Grimalkins in this novel- I mean I like him; he’s exactly like the Cheshire Cat and what mad hatter doesn’t love him?- but he’s just there to snort derisively at their passionate love-making… (view spoiler)[Got you excited, right? Nah, no such thing. (hide spoiler)]

That being said, oh Ms Kagawa, this short story could have taken such a turn for good( and it’s about fucking time as well).

But you know what? I’m sorta starting to love these books because they remind me how much cooler I am than they! In retrospective, it also shows how lame that I have to earn cookie points by showcasing myself beside useless characters. Ah, let’s not dwell- I’m getting more depressed by the second remembering Katniss Everdeen and Hermoine Granger and Annabeth Chase(shucks they share the same last name!) and Isaboe……. Yep. Well done, I hate them again(Meghan not Everdeen).

A little celebration for the Powerpuff Girls(and me) mentioned above.

doodle-230-mushu-attitude

View all my reviews

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

