Parasite (Parasitology #1)

13641105Author: Mira Grant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: Sci-fi

Here be worms.

Things I remember from Mira Grant’s debut novel, Feed(which I never finished, so don’t ask me unnecessary(ie, not one) questions):

~It was loong. Some parts of my brain-memory would claim too long, but they are biased because Feed impeded with their indulgence in more and more and more Percy Jackson.

~There were zombies. The ordinary kind.

~The characters used their intellect, and went about fighting off the undead sans the requisite, critical blowtorch, or any physical weapon.

~The writing was soooo mature. That’s the word for her, truly. I can’t call her prosaic nor bland, just really, really polished.

~Corrupt, evil people.

Things I know of Parasite from first hand, few-days-stale experience:

~It was okay-long. I didn’t quite feel the longevity(except for a while in the middle) because the progression of the story was steady. So no part of me was urging to leave, go, read another.

Parasite has non-existent action but most of its story is fairly melancholic and progressive. Word by word, the characters we meet are built up and page by page, the history of obscure characters, the future of tapeworms and mankind are etched within the story. This world we live in, how it changes and the basic of your world-building.

~There are tapeworm inside people. Something was bound to go wrong; why do rich men never understand it? In this case, the sleeping sickness. Your average, violent zombie that’s not particular about brains. Anything and everything suffices. They always try to do damage control but goddamnit! That never works out, ignorant rich people. Read some damned books.

~The writing, as I said, was sort of melancholic and sad. And very, very sophisticated. She didn’t write the most beautiful or quotable lines, but it was immensely readable and conducive to the character’s personal story. And did I not mention I liked it?

~~The characters used their intellect, and went about fighting off the undead sans the requisite, critical blowtorch, or any physical weapon. I’m quite disappointed with these characters but guess what? I still love Sal, the MC, and Nathan, her beau. I haven’t thought so in a while; they should go and be happy and have fun and dissect worms, or not, and pore over Don’t Go Out Alone. I like them so.

Which reminds me, although I said there was nothing quotable in particular, there were excerpts from a fictitious book, Don’t Go Out Alone, which were refreshing and chilling and yes, quotable:

The broken doors are waiting, down the path you’ve always known.
My darling ones, be careful now, and don’t go out alone.

WHY YOU NO BE REAL? I hate this world.

~Corrupt people, evil tapeworms.

Here be envisioned a world of worms and a lady who was reborn after a fatal accident. Worms are everywhere, within every intestine. The lady isn’t. She lives under the constant scrutiny of a mother who’s looking under every hair, behind each ear, leaving no nail unturned for her child’s twenty years’ worth of memories to resurface. Figuratively speaking. In the mix is also a father who appears gladder for the change, an annoying therapist, some others and the biggest, richest corporation(by definition, evil and corrupt) looming over her for, in a turn of events highly unexpected and the incidence of which can be called a miracle at the very least for the other probabilities are much too gross and Unthinkable(Is everyone a fan of this except me? Why?).

A lot of talk makes up this story, and beyond that, it’s revelation after another. The lack of real action is detrimental to the story. In fact, the first 40% is full of mundane activities that help us in understanding Sal’s character. Sally is not the wittiest person around, however, her narration was never an annoyance or shortcoming as I saw it. Moreover, she behaves exactly like I would, which, I suppose, puts me on the same platform as a basically 6-year old grown woman (view spoiler), but I don’t mind.

Readers and folks I know have claimed it to be a eeeeeek! the creepies! kind of creepy and horrific novel. I didn’t find anything of the sort.

*bites nail*

There are two possible reasons:
a. Been there, seen worse.
b. The awfulness wasn’t actually conveyed and I lack in the imagination department.

By rights, Parasite should have had me running in the opposite direction because worms! but rather, I was looking for more Don’t Go Out Alone references. It could be that the scientific terms and the biology involved mitigated the revulsion it should have begot.

We’ll never know.

Kudos to Ms Grant(except she doesn’t obviously require it at this point) for explaining away the science without making it trivial/obscure/ridiculous and also for the in-depth research. I’m assuming that all the factoid aren’t false because I’m in the throes of too much lackadaisical-ness and ennui to check it up.

Kudos not to Ms Grant for the transparent disclosure(also called cliffy) at the end. I had it figured out waaaaaaaaaaay earlier. Kudos also not to her for evil tapeworms- too redundant. (show spoiler)

All in all, I wasn’t a fan of Grant’s Feed and I don’t love Parasite for a few developments in the story along the way. She’s one of the authors the world loves but I live in a sad glass house away from y’all and observe in misery as you exult in her books.

Thank yooooooouuuuuuuu, Netgalley.

Mushu

2 thoughts on “Parasite (Parasitology #1)

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

