84, Charing Cross Road

368916Author: Helene Hanff
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: Recipe for awesomesauce, Non-fiction, More Please, Old-mold-gold


If you happen to pass by 84, Charing Cross Road, kiss it for me? I owe it so much.

There’s so much awesomeness here, spanning 20 years and lives and deaths and books and TV shows. I loved every moment of it, I loved Helene and Frank and Nora and Cecily and the powdered eggs. I’m not ashamed to admit I was almost moved to tears but that’s cuz it’s no biggie since this winter has been so dismal, even TLC brings brings on the waterworks. Seriously.

Helene had such a nice sense of humor and I loved her fake-indignation and real-indignation. It was also fun to see Frank drop the formality and the ice of customer-provider cracking between them, and Nora- with the last letter of hers, I felt so much for her and Frank my heart coulda burst(also a side-effect of this winter(and good books).

Then there’s so much I’d like to know about the others- how did Cecily and her husband fare? Where did Megan fly off to next? But sadly, as a consequence of life, people move away and there are a lot of melancholic questions.

One day, I’m gonna go to 84, Charing Cross Road and Imma kiss it. That’s on my bucket list- right after snowball fights in Prague.

images

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

