A Mad, Wicked Folly

18079501Author: Sharon Biggs Waller
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Shelves: Historical-fiction, More-please, Recipe-for-awesomesauce

Hello-YOLO, my Ford Cortinas, I hope you aren’t rusting just yet! For my devotion to you runs deep as the Pacific Ocean, I usher you all in to another week of Stuti’s Displayiosity of Fabulosity, wherein you’ll be self-amazed to electrocution by the amounts fabulosity egressing from the orifices I like to call reviewing space! AND I shall be talking in exclamation marks! (With the more-than-occasional full stop.)

I could fit right in with the blokes, but I prefer not to.

THIS. This is what you get if you heed my advice, and go on to slurp and turp and read A Mad, Wicked Folly.

1909, suffragettes engaging in this mad, wicked folly of “Women’s Rights,” bending her poor feeble sex and forgetting every sense of womanly feelings and propriety! Rich, white dudes and their wives turning down noses and other assets at these wicked women! It’s a mad, mad, mad, mad world. On one hand, the decadent and opulent are mastering the art of sucking up, following fashion and maintaining an upturned nose! On the other hand, women(with some men) are working in secret and rallying in public. ON THE OTHER foot, Vicky poses nude for a French art class she attends in sub rosa, gets caught and shipped back to England to fester in the captivity of her outright anti-feminist parents.

So she meets suffragettes, gets arrested, draws more naked people and is engaged to a fuck up. Your basic grounding.

And on a tiny eyelash(like mine! Seriously, I might as well have none, they’re so tiny and invisible!), a sweet, cute romance going on and being put on pause with a writer/policeman.

While it’s usually everyday I read a book and I pump my fists to heaven I know not, it’s certainly not everyday that I read a book, grinning like a loony loon at a loon party, and pump my fists to heavens I mighta justa tasted. Especially when it comes to historical fiction. However my lotiony, creamy lotions, GIRL POWER!

And yes, there is some of this. Well not exactly, but there IS! THERE IS SO MUCH!

Vicky is a cute, adorable, willful girl who believes in the Suffragette Movement but doesn’t want to join it for she believes as an artist, she can only focus on her art. Even after she’s arrested. And sneaks out, and runs, and dances but she gets her head straight and I’ll get to that- no, actually, I won’t but you will, soon as you read ze book.(No eefs, not buts.(Sorry, French people!)) And at the end of the day, she’s a protagonist to root for at every stroke of la brosse!

My one peeve is that for a major duration of the book, Victoria’s character remains unchanged, unwavering. She wants what she wants, she believes she can get it, she has her moments of doubt and she’s a well-rounded character but from start to finish, there’s very little change in her. But she was fabulous the way she was, so what I’m grumbling about I know not.

Besides her, there are oozes and oozes of fabulosity- Sophie, the Americana Lucy, the real Sylvia Pankhurst(is this what they call love? Swoon!), Harry, Will. I have developed a healthy respect for all these characters- especially the ones who played a part in MY history as a woman, the ones I don’t know, the ones who are real, the ones who suffered for me and us to such extents.

We modern women are fortunate to have had such brave souls fighting to give us the vote. -Sharon Biggs Walker

And the romance! Swoooooooooonnnnn encore! That’s ALL I’m willing to say(he was so willing to help in the classes!).

Another lovely thing about A Mad, Wicked Folly was the atmosphere- never, ever was there a lack. If not the oppressive air of her home, it was the artist breaths she lived on. Or her zeal at doing what she loved and dancing with Sohpie and drawing- no more. Or it was the fervor and camaraderie and dedication of the suffragettes that made me want to join them.

A Mad, Wicked Folly sure as hell made me mad, angry and all the variants, but more than that, it had me grinning and loving and respectful to one and many.

I’m sorry but my little cousin is BUGGING me with her flying kisses so me has to go. Goodbye and don’t forget to breathe in my dust, vacuum cleaners!

For opportunity is nothing if you don’t grave it with both hands.

Love, love, love to them people at Viking Juvenile!

imagesvector-flames-007

2 thoughts on “A Mad, Wicked Folly

  1. Ooh fantastic! I’m always up for some suffragettes. I love learning more about that period of time. And the Arctic Monkeys. 🙂

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

