The Mini-Review Alliance Front

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That HappenedHyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Shelves: non-fiction, graphic-novel-illustrations, humor

One day, I’m gonna get tired of people and Imma stuff this in their faces and scream,”GO, FIGURE MYSELF OUT!” because YES, this book was that relatable. Different situation, same context.

The beginning was so fucking hilarious, with the dogs and letters to the past. Midway through, however, I just started feeling more connected but less and less in the mood of busting my guts. Eh, but these things happen. Another problem was how non-sequential the chapters were- there was no sort of relation between them. Anecdotes jumped from philosophizing to mayhems in matter of pages.

Till the end, however, it was a great book. You should definitely read it, in case you haven’t. I feel like there were entire lines that could describe me and my identity and life, but I didn’t mark ’em down in order to tempt myself and go back for re-reads in a decades(and mayhap sometimes in between now and then).

Mushuvector-flames-007

________________________________________________________________________________
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1)Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Shelves: hot-like-meh, sci-fi

Oh well.

I liked the scifi-ness, the premise and Dina with her broom because that is infinitely awesome. The smart house was pretty damn cool too. But I was bo-oh-oh-orrrrrred. See, I won’t use a single exclamation mark in the entire non-review.

The fighting sequences, the slightly overwrought descriptions, the lengthy and sorta info-dumpy conversations detracted from my enjoyment. But the small dialogues were funny. That was a plus point, as was the ending.

I might check out the next book, but I’m not sure.

Mushu

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

