Plus One

17934493Author: Elizabeth Fama
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: Let me down, Hot like meh

WARNING: THERE BE DRAGONS!

First things first, let’s decide on the rating because I love giving golden, little stars to books.

In terms of writing, characters, plot, blah di dah all mushed together and judged together, I’d like to give Plus One three intact stars. On the other hand, when I consider my feels, or lack thereof, and enjoyment, or lack thereof again, I can come up with nothing better than 2.5.

SO I decided, if I’m going to break them, I might as well go in completely, AND compromised between my critical heart and generous mind: 2 and 3/4 stars. It’s in sequence.

Plus One incited in me reactions from a very small range. There were times during which being in my vicinity would have transported you to a dimension where dragons breathe not fire, but fire-colored liquid(OJ), through not their mouth, but their nose.

I am a ferocious beast in pink!


It was a miracle we didn’t get hit. It was like the videos I had seen of traffic in India…

DO you see what comes after what? I swear, had it not been for the book, I’d have fallen for Ms Fama right there and then.

I rested my lips on the rim of the bottle before I drank, trying to differentiate between the warm wetness of the water and the warm wetness of his mouth…

HAHA! But alas-ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

…and brushed his great nose…

My HOUSE IS ON LIQUID-FIRE!

More of my reactions included:
boredom, because while lots of things happened, they really didn’t.

confusion, when they say

“This is what I’ve wanted since the prairie.”

“The same night that…” He couldn’t finish the sentence. “The same night that Poppu died.”

Heh? She was just talking with her Poppu, like she just returned from his room. The prairie was around two days ago.

disappointment, because nothing in the book satiated me

creeped out, the singular time:

I looked closer. His lashes were as pale as his eyebrow.



This is a poor kid she’s just met, who’s walking with them in uncomfortable silence, going “Um….” As someone who herself suffers through that, I find it creepy. But that’s my pet peeve, don’t you be bothered and all!

Plus One has a very interesting premise, a world that was unfolded in multiple chapters at a varying pace. Days and Nights are not, as one might guess, races; they’re classes of people bifurcated based on their assignment in either day or night. At first, I was really impressed with the background and attitudes and traits of people-Rays and Smudges; Rays walked and talked openly while Smudges learned to sneak and skulk around early on. The difference in their perceptions is something I’d have liked to see more of, but sadly the book lacked in that department. I also thought that their lives would be more hurried seeing that each class had around twelve hours assigned to them, but they almost seemed languid. There were things that I questioned about the working of the world, the simplest things because I am goddamn genius(not), and I’m glad to admit that they really were no problems, and I was simply pretending at being precocious.

The theme playing at the book’s core is love. Love for family starts the roller-coaster(not), and ends with true love. (True love ain’t for me butI believe in tru wuv.) Sol Le Coeur decides to kidnap her new-born niece by deliberately mutilating her hand, so her grandfather, Poppu, gets to hold her before his last breath. Various misdeeds, mistaken identity, good people, chances et cetra ensue, and a story is written.

Sol is a badass MC who will be loved, admired, aspired, sung ballads in taverns about by one and many; she doesn’t always kick ass, she has her moments of vulnerability and stupidity, and if I weren’t me, I would say she’s a marvellous and unique character with lots of juice to be squeezed out. However, by some probability and a few too many rounds of moonshine with dices in hand, ended up with me being me. And being me, I say that Sol didn’t leave any kind of impression on me as a person, nor could I connect with her in any way. This lack of connection contributed the most towards my mild feelings about Plus One.

The romantic interest, D’Arcy, I think, could have been a great character. But he didn’t give me any swoons and I couldn’t even begin to try and look at him beyond his niceness. In the beginning, he had great potential to be a mulch-layered character, and he continued to be so, until a little ways forward from the mid of the story. That is when I felt it all going down the drain- the potential realized, and the unrealized. However, at the end of the second day, I refute my aforesaid statement because he really was a fleshed out character, and made more of an impact on me than Sol did. No swoons, though. No goddamn swoons.

Another character I’d like to discuss is Gigi. From what little we see of her, she comes off as a bitch, broken and used. I liked her and I felt for her. She is being treated like shit from both sides, yet she has her attitude and yet she helps them. At least there was one character whose story I’d like to read, and see where she goes.

This is a minor spoiler, so skip if you want.
Gigi is Sol’s brother, Ciel’s ex. He broke her heart. He’s married and has a child. YET he forces her to negotiate with him, when other people were up for it, and she absolutely doesn’t want to. He has his reasons, but I thought this was a downright assholish thing to do.

The story isn’t really very political; it involves more skipping about, hiding and having fun, thinking unwanted thoughts etc. It isn’t very revolutionary either. There are some revelations made, and there might a revolution growing in the background, involved with characters completely unrelated with Sol, but that has very little to do with the story, until the very end. Plus One doesn’t set out to make any statement; differences, injustices don’t consume many words because foremost, it’s a story about love.(And escaping.) Poppu, D’Arcy(for him, Jean, Helen), Ciel and in light of a declaration, Gigi.

One plus(o_O) is that I rrrrrrreeeeeeally like the cover.[See truwuv.]

I suppose lots of people are going to love this book-even with the misjudged set of expectations- but I spent my time making sounds of chains clanging as zombies zombie-shuffle wearing them as ornaments while I’m actually gritting my teeth(my teeth are razor-sharp and the razor is made of steel).

For when bats steal your OJ.

Not my best review, but it’s all I can manage. Drawing dragons wears me out, as does trying to imagine myself as dragons(I’m nothing if not authentic).

Thank you Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group!

Mushu

4 thoughts on “Plus One

  1. D’Arcy is Darcy with an apostrophe. Coincidence? I THINK NOT
    Eeek..I am not sure I want to read this.
    I don’t like the spin of dragons in this book and it sounds more paranormaly than fantasy .-.
    and it reminds me of Firelight by Sophie Jordan which was a nightmare.
    I am not kidding.

    Great Review, Stuti!! 😀
    (and you’ve got SKILLS ;))

    • HAHA! The MC thinks along those lines, too. But there are no dragons, they’re my creation. It’s simply a case of alternate reality where people are divided based on what shift they work. It’s all about social divide and the govt. No fantasy, I swear! Firelight was a nightmare, but this one really isn’t anything like it. So sorry to have gotten you confused!

      • NO YOU DIDNT CONFUSE ME 😛
        I make assumptions, which is not a good thing
        but as someone who loves fantasy, nope. IF THERE ARE DRAGONS THAN THERE MUST BE FANTASY
        I do not care about the gov.
        Although.. do you think the author was trying to do something along the lines of Seraphina with the social divide?

        • The gov is stupid. But initially, there was a good reason for the divide. Seraphina? I don’t think so. In Seraphina, they’re considered monstrous, right? But in Plus One, it’s like Casteism. They’re both the same, except the Day government has more powers than the Night Ministry for some reason.

          No dragons involved, just human stupidity.

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

