The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)

17883441Author: Julie Kagawa
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: Fantasy/pnr/everything untoward, Dystopia/Post-ap, let me down

Disclaimer:Indelicate pictures not for the weak-hearted.

The Eternal Song while being a satisfying conclusion to a kick-ass series, was on its own, quite a disappointment for most of the part. I can imagine, in rather vivid details and a motley bunch of gifs, many future readers’ frustration and disappointment, and frankly, I’m anticipating those reviews. Though if you managed to enjoy The Eternity Cure with all its whining, like me, then you just might be able to tolerate it. Except, in The Eternity Cure, you only had Allison 2.0, while here you have, Allie, Zeke and often times, Jackal whining/angsting/bitching, angsting and bitching(this was fun, actually) respectively.

I think Kagawa has a real flair for making simple stories bigger than they are, at least so far as Blood of Eden is concerned; coupled with her graphic writing, she can engage one in a story that, ordinarily, wouldn’t have held any kind of interest for oneself because they’re so trite and predictable. I still like the series and if I could go back in time with the knowledge of what is to come, and its how, I wouldn’t skip out on it; and I think that says a whole lotta about the book than my endless gripes with it.

Overlooking the little knick-knacks they encountered on the way, the looming end of the of the world part deux, Allie and Jackal’s need for vengeance, this story was basically an extended road trip with abundance of guts and gore. And, I mean the literal guts, spilling out of overturned bodies hanging from the branches of trees. A road trip with four unhappy campers, three of which are not suitable for spending more than a few hours in the other’s company, at least in their immediate condition. Through out the course of their drive/walk to Sarren, a definite cycle plays out every three pages in, with a few modifications after Zeke joins them.

They might be crude and at a glance complex, but these are simple creatures, and really, it’s a basic cycle less complicated than your average Joe’s version of the water cycle.

Le beginning-ment:

De le middlement:

Disclaimer 2:I’m not sure about Jackal and Kanin’s appearance; also, my French is atrocious, to put it delicately.

Over and over, over and over, that at some point I stopped sympathizing/connecting with the protagonist and started seeing things through Kanin’s impatient and exasperated eyes.


Can you contract Vampirism by sympathising too much? I think I might have.

Kanin was thoroughly awesome in the first two books, and remains so in this last installment. Of course, he’s just trying to atone for his grave mistakes; of course, he’s only being a ‘bleeding heart,’ to quote Jackal, but you know what? despite everything, because of everything, he is a character I respect. Partly, I confess, is because of Allison-her devotion and loyalty towards Kanin. So there’s that; Allie is good for something, besides hacking and chopping and overload of drama.

Jackal? Witty, sarcastic and far as I’m concerned, vair vair sexy. Yes, he annoyed the hell out of me(and Kanin) many a time, but that was circumstantial and unavoidable, and one of those, once in a while happening. I have many hopes for him as a character and maybe, (view spoiler)

On the other(wrong) side of the bars are Zeke and Allison, angsting and blurring into each other because they have personalities that appear so similar. Zeke used to have a distinctive, albeit boring, personality, at least in the context of this series. However, in The Forever Song, his actions and mood-swings and gripes have a lot in common to that of Allison, soon after she became a vampire. The only differences are the psychopathic and cold looks he adopts at times. Zeke was in-fucking-tolerable. Moreover, their conversations are so completely stagnant. In fact, Faye from the Social Potato has depicted it exactly in her review.

And yet, I did read the entire book from Allison’s POV, never getting the urge to skip over the theatrical parts of her narration, w.r.t. her romance with Zeke, including talks about their fucking forever. Ugh’s, but I read on because the writing was compelling and Allison can, once in a blue moon, say things that endear her to me- you know, your standard talks about maiming and stuff. Plus, she’s an awesome fighter, so I pretty much ate up all the fighting scenes. The gory scenes were so many, so engrossing and visual, which is a very strong point in favor of this series for me.

Like I said before, it was an extended, predictable trip so the plot wasn’t that engaging. A couple new elements are included and dealt with, but they don’t make much of an impact. It was all very straight-forward, no U-turns, just one annoying triangle of annoying each other.

My favorite quote, for it resonated with me:

“Can I stab him, please?”

Overall, I’m glad this series was over but I really liked it, from start to finish with a few reservations. I’ll likely have no nostalgic feelings about it in days to come, but it was an interesting story about parasitic, intelligent, blood-drinking life-forms.

Thank you Harlequin Teen!

Mushu

One thought on “The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)

  1. Just wondering, before I consider subscribing… is that this an actual, individually composed letter to just about every subscriber, or does each individual writer compose a single letter each and every week and send the same composition to all from the subscribers they’re assigned to write to?

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

