Oblivion

19162098Author: Sasha Dawn
My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Shelves: Abandoned, Realistic Fiction

From Goodreads:

Lisa McMann’s Dead to You meets Kate Ellison’s The Butterfly Clues in a psychological thriller full of romance, intrigue, and mystery.Two years ago, Callie was found in an abandoned apartment, scrawling words on the wall: “I KILLED HIM. His blood is on my hands. His heart is in my soul. I KILLED HIM.” But she remembers nothing of that night or of the three previous days.  All she knows is that her father, the reverend at the Church of the Holy Promise, is missing, as is Hannah, a young girl from the parish. Their disappearances have to be connected and Callie knows that her father was not a righteous man.But the more she remembers, the closer she comes to the horrifying truth. And when a good looking guy in school helps her to remember what she’s buried for so long, she might wish she never dug up the past.


 

Guess 134 pages are enough to determine that I do not like this book.

Oblivion, somehow, ended up being one of the most tiresome stories I’ve read(or tried to) this year. And yeah, that includes this book called Here be Sexist Vampires(on second thoughts nooooo, that was way fucking worse) Venus In Furs and Nevermore and this girl’s guide to some boys, I shit you not. Frankly, I’m kind of surprised as to how it turned out for me, because starting with, I was enjoying the writing style, and the story, quite a lot. But that is it-the goddamn starting point.

Afterwards, it all went downhill. And just continued. And its velocity compounded with every page. And it was summerrrrrrr. And hot. And afternoon. External factors + external factors begot an unhappy me, through no fault of mine I sway-uh.

First of all, for a thriller, for a mystery to actually develop, the story should move forward even if it involves tracing the past, or seeking lost memories. Leaving the plot stagnant while the characters engage in rubbish, tangential, and unflinchingly(or flinchingly, as the case may be) uncontributive scenes only works for so long, especially if the said scenes don’t happen to enforce character dynamics. This is one of the major failures on part of Oblivion.

Sure, I read only the first 100-something pages, but even in a book 400 or 800 pages long, those beginnings shouldn’t count for nothing.

The prose at the start became cloying and repetitive after a while. Another major disappointment, because were it not for the standstill and the unnecessary prolongation, this writing itself could have gone down a road I think I’d have coseyed up to.

Moreover, characters themselves didn’t make a lasting impression on me, much less a positive one. Having abandoned this almost a month ago, all I can remember are the beginnings of a love triangle, which ordinarily I don’t mind as much as the next reader, but because of fruitless attempts at chemistry I already saw it failing, and a sisterly best friend whose less-than-purrfect portrayal I enjoyed at first, but lackadaisical attempts and half-assed pejorative light bored the fuck out of me.

On the other hand, one thing I do remember liking is Callie’s obviously affected and overblown views of her best friend, whom she claims to love very much so much we’re best sisters forever won’t leave each other. As evidenced by her numerous actions and reactions, the best friend wasn’t the sweetest chick you could ask for but Callie seemed to reserve a love for her. And me likey! In the beginning, that is.

It’s alllll in the beginning.

In any case, readers are welcome to prove me wrong, love this book and make fanclubs for the author. I’ve already seen reviews that contradict my personal, subjective opinions so yay! I hope Callie and her best friend have the speshulest friendship as Callie sees it, and when they’re old and grey, they still wear socks of the other(FYI, I don’t know if they do that). As for the love triangle, I didn’t see enough, believe in either of the guys or even Callie enough to propose that she might be lucky in that department in the future. Let there be light and the mystery solved, with culprits where they belong and kids safe in their nests.

Also, no-yays! for asshole fathers. Who might or not have abducted a little girl(as Callie suspects her father might have). But who are assholes anyways.

Kudos on the cover and parched lips and weird, geometric iris though. Me love it!

Review copy provided by Egmont USA.

Mushu_by_funlakota

 

4 thoughts on “Oblivion

  1. Meh, I don’t like plots that don’t move at all. I mean it’s a mystery. It’s a thriller. They’re supposed to be fast-paced. They’re supposed to keep us guessing. They’re supposed to be plot-driven. Take that away, and what do you get? Something boring. Won’t bother with this one 😮

    Faye at The Social Potato

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

