(In a Sense) Lost and Found

17675373Author: Roman Muradov
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Shelf: Graphic novel/illustration

Summary from Goodreads:

(In a Sense) Lost and Found, the first graphic novel by rising star Roman Muradov, explores the theme of innocence by treating it as a tangible object; something that can be used, lost, and mistreated. Muradov’s crisp, delicate style conjures a world of strange bookstores, absurd conspiracies, and charming wordplay. A surreal tale in the mold of the best American alternative comics, In a Sense retains its distinctly Eastern perspective.

Roman Muradov was born in Moscow, Russia. He now resides in San Francisco, California.


 

HUH.

The problem with this book is that it went right over my head. Actually, that could be a problem with me, in all fairness, but I think a story should strive to ensure that its point, message should be somewhat conveyed to readers and simpleton(me) alike.

Frankly, if I hadn’t actually know what it’s about, having read the blurb and a detailed review by someone on an intellectual plain way above mine, the story would have been a girl who lost something, ties to find it, decides the thing and herself are better off without each other in any case despite what society says. However within this limitation, what I applaud is that Muradov was still able to say something, even if that was marred by jumbling scenes and dialogue, plus art that wasn’t always clear, which wept compounding so that by the time the conclusion swung around, I could barely discern what was going even in the physical sense.

Yet when I think about what this lost thing was,-innocence as a tangible thing-I can’t help wondering how/what the experience would have been, had I been able to grasp it.

As much as I love the idea of (In a Sense) Lost and Found, I can’t help thinking that the execution was (in a sense) faltering and
dissonant.

Recommended, with reservations.

Review copy provided by Nobrow Press.

doodle-230-mushu-attitude

A shortish review on a long day(whose afternoon I spent away sleeping on the couch.)(If you must know, I was awake till midnight for the final of FIFA2014 to start, but when it actually started, I, in my sleep-deprived state, decided to forgo it. ONE MINUTE AFTER IT STARTED. Yeah, brilliant aren’t I? No wonder I couldn’t get this book.)(But gooooooo Germany!!!) (Even with the drowsiness clogging me still, I remain yours and yours only. See you next time!)

3 thoughts on “(In a Sense) Lost and Found

  1. Ah I know what you mean. There have been so many books that I’ve read that while have beautiful ideas, the execution of said ideas fell short. *sigh* It sucks even more because this is a graphic novel. I imagine it has even more potential. :/

    I am sorry you didn’t enjoy this one all that much, Stuti. 😦

    Lovely review (EVEN IF IT WAS SHORT)

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

