Some Fine Day

18666113Author: Kat Ross
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Shelf: Dystopian/Post-apocalyptic

Sixteen-year-old Jansin Nordqvist is on the verge of graduating from the black ops factory known as the Academy. She’s smart and deadly, and knows three things with absolute certainty:
 
1. When the world flooded and civilization retreated deep underground, there was no one left on the surface.
 2. The only species to thrive there are the toads, a primate/amphibian hybrid with a serious mean streak.
 3. There’s no place on Earth where you can hide from the hypercanes, continent-sized storms that have raged for decades.
 
Jansin has been lied to. On all counts.

 

While not the most innovative in its plot or directive, Some Fine Day remains an exciting and satisfying post-apocalyptic novel without the hair-pulling, mind-numbness, eye-rolling, and terribly, monotonously good, fulfilling characters that seem to pervade this genre. It was not mentally tiring and that’s a rare thing these days.

https://i2.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lzp6hlD5FD1roo4slo1_500.gif

Jansin is about to graduate and become a full-fledged assassin for the government in the underground world that is her home. There are political strains, shortage of resources, calamities above ground, biological weapons, evil scientist, and boy she has to battle all that and more but first, she wins the war by conquering the most important: learning the actual history of what happened ages ago, finding camaraderie and livelihood amongst the ones she’s never known to exist, and falling in love.

https://i1.wp.com/blogs.studentlife.utoronto.ca/lifeatuoft/files/2014/03/winter.gif

Of course, then things go south. But she’s already won the war, see? Only the un-consequentials are left, like rooting out corruption, cruelty, blah di dah, rescue operations, safe havens.

SEE? It won’t midfuck you till all your neurons have fertilised, but it was a pleasant read that was a good respite from the other books that try so fucking hard to achieve fuck-all in the end, at least where I’m concerned.

Jansin was a serious, pragmatic character, occasionally given to bouts of disgustingly teenage of sappiness(eugh! idiots). -_- There are phases to this story and as required of her changing situations, her thought processes develop along with the contexts within which they’re placed. Thankfully, she isn’t given to philosophizing about the turd(s) in clouds, or how could they be sooooo? how could humans be sooooo? No overwrought drama. Or emotions that make me want to barf.

https://i2.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8unnu7M7r1qiehw3o1_500.jpg

Her due sobriety and maturity, the simplicity in the mode of presentation of her character without smokescreens, veils and other crap in between, were a refreshing change that I am ever thankful for.

The particulars of the story- the ones that vary in every dystopian- like how the world ended, enemies made, new creatures were interesting enough, and sometimes their descriptions(such as of the hypercanes) were chilling without seeming contrived to be so.

As I said before, there are phases to this story and in the very first of them, when Jansin learns to live amongst survivors of the hypercanes, there is a lull because Jansin is easing into her life and that could put off readers; personally, I didn’t find it specifically boring, although it failed to enthrall me since the character dynamics established fell flat for me.

Here’s where my problem lies: besides Jansin and to some extent, her mother, there was no getting to know any other character. They weren’t fleshed out, not even the romantic interest, and nor could I feel their chemistry which had supposedly developed during their time together on the island. However, the only reason I knew there was romance was because a) it was expected and b) the after-effects of this chemistry were felt in the latter stages of the story.

Character dynamics are truly crucial to my enjoyment of a book, which in turn says a lot about Some Fine Day, I suppose, that I still give it the rating that I do.

There’s finagling of people, codes, ships and truths in the next phases that also enjoy action. All kinds of brainpower required. However, the final action scenes, as the climax mounted and kept on, were slightly disappointing in their blood-letting and drenching.

Okay, you can hate me now but don’t pretend you don’t ask for the same. A story is simple not as fun as could be unless and until there’s some green intestines collaring the poor good guy who was destined to die, and broken nails lodged in throats. Duh. Because that kinda happened to me and it was sooooo bloody annoying like what the fuck do I need this esophagus for? The need to get rid of it easily overpowers instincts of self-preservation.

Anyways, I’ll be on the lookout for more of Kat Ross‘s books, if/when they come and yeah, this might a cool read for a slow day when your patience isn’t absolutely worn-out.

Review copy provided by publishers.
Mushuvector-flames-007

4 thoughts on “Some Fine Day

  1. I AM GLAD TO SEE YOU WEREN’T ABDUCTED BY ALIENS. I wouldn’t be too happy about having to bargain with my brethren for your life. Anyway, I was interested in this one ’cause assassins but then.. it turns out this won’t be coming out which is a real pity 😦

    I like how there wasn’t an overindulgence of emotions. Emotions are not good for my soul. Especially teenage emotions 😛

    Anyway I am glad you enjoyed this in spite of the several problems in the book. Maybe someday I’ll get access to this book.

    Fantastic review, Stuti!!

    • I’m glad to get back to you as well. =)) Maybe you will and it will be in the middle of lots of draining craptastic drama both of us hate and then you can begin to love me because it was so freeeeeeeeing to read it.

  2. Glad to see you back in action, Stuti! You were missed! I’m not sure if you really were on hiatus, but I didn’t see you around for a while. Haha. In any case, I’m glad to see ths was a decent read. I’m trying to read this one right now and I am having a few troubles here adn there, as I keep seeing unnecessary details being spoken every now and then (like who cares what are the prints on your dress and every accessory you wear?!?!). Hopefully I like it enough ><

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • I know it’s a little rough in those parts. I abandoned it at first because of all that shit, but then it got kind-of good later on, or perhaps it was just a product of accidentally good timing. I don’t know, I hope you end up liking it a bit.

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

