September Books’ Reviews: Part 2

More tiny reviews ’cause today I used up alllll my words for a competition I lost. And the host school cheated. Fucking poseurs. Anyways, I actually made lemonade of lemons today. BREAKING NEWS: it ain’t just a stupid saying. But that’s one tale the reserves for which I’ve exhausted by regurgitating it to my friends, and dissecting it with others, garrulously and deliriously and derisively. PHEW! Let’s ignore all that crap and onto the books, baby! Basically, these are the couple of books I’d not recommend unless you can get them for free! free! free!


18710739Title: Blackbird
Author: Anna Carey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Shelf: Sci-fi

A girl wakes up on the train tracks, a subway car 
barreling down on her. With only minutes to react, 
she hunches down and the train speeds over her. She
 doesn’t remember her name, where she is, or how 
she got there. She has a tattoo on the inside of 
her right wrist of a blackbird inside a box, letter
s and numbers printed just below: FNV02198. There 
is only one thing she knows for sure: people are 
trying to kill her. 

On the run for her life, she tries to untangle who
she is and what happened to the girl she used to be.
Nothing and no one are what they appear to be. But 
the truth is more disturbing than she ever imagined. 

The Maze Runner series meets Code Name Verity, 
Blackbird is relentless and action-packed, filled 
with surprising twists

Now now, this story might have been stupid, unbelievable, contrived, illogical, without sequence and any number of shit that I hate in other books. BUT! But perhaps it was a stroke of luck or the vagaries of my mood; I ended up really enjoying it.

There was action! Boom yeah!
There are secrets! Boom yeah!
Betrayals so fucking obvious that yet take me down convoluted paths! Boom yeah!
And ending that had just the bare amount of emotion! Boom yeah!

The fact that it’s written in second person present will turn off many readers. For me, Blackbird is the first book written with such technique that I didn’t hate. However, I do accredit neither my like nor my dislike to the writing style. I don’t care how it’s written so long as it pulls me in.

Blackbird follows a predictable plot and even the characters aren’t of much import, but it’s a thriller whose sequence of scenes will manage to keep you reeled in.

However, I suggest you read this only when you’re tired of using your brains, have lost the capacity to critique/think and are basically fucking sick of everything.

I’m certainly looking forward to the next book.

Mushu


18163646Title: Falling into Place
Author: Amy Zhang
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Shelf: Realistic fiction

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed
Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after 
school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes
off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be
better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly 
told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this 
heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the 
short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular
junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t
understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles 
toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do
we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate?
What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be
a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause
and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will
appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay 
Asher.

Oh dear book, you tried so hard to be clever and poignant yet you failed-or if I’m being generous, barely passed.

Liz Emerson is depressed and smashes her car. Go backwards days and weeks and months and years, and we follows forwards how all kinds of shit went down. How Liz Emerson destroyed lives upon lives without a care.

AND it’s written in third person present, which ordinarily works for me, but this time around, there was just too much telling, which actually worked a few times but on the grander scale, let the book down by making it seem like a shallow exploration of misery, action and reaction.

On the whole, we sit in for a two-day wait at the hospital waiting to see if Liz Emerson will pull through or not. During these two days, lives change, improve. And I thought it was such bullshit, especially for the fact that it was spontaneous. Moreover, we do not get to see how the character came to this realization, as it is told during another character’s perspective. I wasn’t a big fan of the unknown, omniscient narrator-although I have loved the technique in previous cases-despite/because the fact that I discovered their identity early on. The entire emotional effect it added was redundant and contrived.

However, there were times when one could read between the lines, when there were things to be read and for those simply, I have given it three stars. The writing itself was simplistic and refreshing. Plus, I absolutely loved the interjection of Newton’s laws and physics shit, in particular how it tied up with the story.

As a side: I really hated the fact that the boy we are supposed to be rooting for, considering him the SHIT, since Liz’s besties and Mum are prone to do so, actually thinks that he’s always thought of one of Liz’s friends as a whore.

No fucking way.

Mushu

One thought on “September Books’ Reviews: Part 2

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

