September Books’ Reviews: Part 3

This is the final edition, even though I have a couple September books left. Eh. It’s also the EXAMS AHOY! edition. Starting tomorrow, I shall be in the land of do-not-disturb until I call upon you, book! Do NOT tempt me. I’ll probably fail at keeping myself away from books, blogs, reviews but just in case you don’t see me around, I HAVE NEVER, WILL NEVER SUCCUMB TO COOKIES OR THE DARK SIDE, where they don’t read books.

But let’s make haste: I have my English exam tomorrow. In descending order of affection for the books, we have…

DISCLAIMER: Review copies provided by respective publishers.

Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My PrettyPoisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty by Christine Heppermann

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Shelves: Fairytale and/or retellings, myth mix, more please?, Recipe for awesomesauce, Verse/Poetry, Illustrations/Graphic Novel

Christine Heppermann‘s book of poems is an uncharted land of twisted familiarity-drowning dreams, trapped girls, interminable diseases and poisoned apples. These poems, ranging in style and content and voice, are beautifully haunting and possess a tangible loneliness that speaks out starkly.

I’ve already read and read and read them again-so many times rinse and repeat. The first time around, I actually wasn’t planning on it. I was waiting for my net connection to re-establish so I could download a few other books from my dashboard, was just messing around whiling away the time until I had to leave for something or the other, when I opened the book and an hour later, couldn’t stop poring over each facet of Poisoned Apples Poems for You My Pretty.

What makes it beyond exceptional and into unexpected territory, is not only the content,-which would suffice in itself because it is just that. bloody. good.-it’s also the inclusion of media-photographs-that integrate so well with each poem and give themselves, and the accompanying poems. an unshakable resonance.

Tangled within everything are fairy tales and myths, urging one to look deeper within them. The author draws parallels between fairy tales and girls’ lives; points out the paradigms in the former of a hidden want to tell stories. Darkly comic, it laughs at itself and begs the reader to see, understand because no one else does. Even when you can’t understand them, they ask for you. Especially then.

These poems seem to scream, whisper sporadically; that red on the cover reminds me of blood, the book is bleeding.

I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on a finished copy that I can flit through, pass around, and read until its spine breaks. And I never, ever wish for that.

imagesvector-flames-007


Tabula RasaTabula Rasa by Kristen Lippert-Martin

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars

Shelves: Work yoself Rashika, Sci fi

Tabula Rasa wasn’t a particularly bad book, neither was it good. It was, however, exactly what I expected, and required.

The book is a good palate cleanser, I admit. There are evil doctors, family history, a cute boy, a protagonist who is not that much of an irritant and heartbreak.

It was fun, for a while and honestly, that’s about all I can tell you. A romp in the snow, a bit unbelievably at times, with lots of pretending, psychiatric patients and dead, evil nurses. Who doesn’t enjoy a dead, evil nurse? Perhaps those who enjoy dead, evil corporate people or doctors. Why, then, you’re absolutely welcome too!

At times, the story did fall prey to banality and the professions of love were unnecessary, inexplicable. The begrudging friendship thing they had going on was cute, and I liked it but they just haaaaad to go and butcher it. Also, it was hard to form a view of what was happening because the descriptions were oftentimes lacking, as were explanations.

In any case, I wouldn’t recommend against Tabula Rasa, but don’t go out of your way for it either.

doodle-230-mushu-attitudevector-flames-007


WinterspellWinterspell by Claire Legrand

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Shelves: Abandoned, Fantasy/pnr/everything untoward, Fairytale and/or retelling, Historical Fiction, Let me down

Oh well.

There are lots of topics touched upon in Winterspell, from possible molestation of a living statue to thankfully! prurient girls and burgeoning sexuality to failures of father figures, that could have made for a rainy day book. Well, it didn’t. Owing to a multitude of reasons, I had to abandon the novel at around 34% and can’t even think to recommend it to anyone.

1. The writing style! It wasn’t conducive at all. I could hardly begin to picture and get invested in the land, setting of the story. I don’t know what to point at per se, but the way it came across was awkward, unfinished. Rough edges all around.

2. Lack of characterization. Especially of our protagonist. Her portrayal was forced, more so than others’. It was like the author had drawn up a list of how/what Clara feels, and in between action and dialogue, when there’s pause, introduced them for a paragraph or two, then gone again until later. Her feelings didn’t… integrate well.

3. The action scenes took away what little characterization, however malformed, there was. Pages upon pages would go by, once the action sequences started, before we’d get a look into her head. Weird and lacking, considering the book’s written in first person present.

Gah, these are the main causes.

Mafia fail.
Fairy tale fail.
Faery tale fail.

Mushu_by_funlakota


TOODLE-DOOOOOO!

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

