A Vision of Fire

21412146Authors: Gillian Anderson, Jeff Rovin
My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars
Shelf: fantasy-pr-everything-untoward

The first novel from iconic X-Files star Gillian 
Anderson and New York Times bestselling author Jeff 
Rovin: a science fiction thriller of epic proportions.

Renowned child psychologist Caitlin O’Hara is a 
single mom trying to juggle her job, her son, and a 
lackluster dating life. Her world is suddenly 
upturned when Maanik, the daughter of India’s 
ambassador to the United Nations, starts speaking 
in tongues and having violent visions. Caitlin is 
sure that her fits have something to do with the 
recent assassination attempt on her father—a shooting 
that has escalated nuclear tensions between India and 
Pakistan to dangerous levels—but when teenagers 
around the world start having similar outbursts, 
Caitlin begins to think that there’s a more sinister 
force at work.

In Haiti, a student claws at her throat, drowning 
on dry land. In Iran, a boy suddenly and inexplicably 
sets himself on fire. Animals, too, are acting 
irrationally, from rats in New York City to birds 
in South America to ordinary house pets. With Asia on 
the cusp of nuclear war, Caitlin must race across 
the globe to uncover the mystical links among these 
seemingly unrelated incidents in order to save her 
patient—and perhaps the world.

X-FILES STORY TIME!

Or maybe not. But if you want to share, I’m game.

The only momentous change in my life that happened, courtesy of X-Files, was my fascination and, in the beginning, fear of twins. Aaaaand… a major part of happy family time of my childhood was between 10:00-11:00 pm, Monday to Friday, watching Scully and Mulder solve the unsolvable and uncover conspiracies in rapt attention.

My parents really didn’t care about shielding us from fictional horror. Good on them! I’m glad that I don’t have a twin though. That one episode fucked me up bad for a while.

The truth is out there.
Or in here?

Cause, I mean, Scully wrote the damn book. How can the truth not be in here? In that case, be sure that these global turmoils soon quite down or some of us will be, in time, kaput.

Or maybe it’s not, because really, this book is like a blander episode of X-Files. Conspiracies and interesting science fiction? Done. Interesting characters? Not done.

Basically, one of those episodes which you’ll watch because you cannot not watch X-Files, and since it’s X-Files, it’ll hold your attention but soon as the advertisements come on, you are changing the channel. And Mulder & Scully are rrreally boring you-even the undetectable chemistry of sometimes seasons is lacking. Even Mulder seems bereft of his obsession, and Dana of her denial.

BUT THE TRUTH IS IN HERE, I TELL YOU.

And let’s be done with the comparison/metaphor anyway. Whose stupid idea was it in the first place?

So the moment of truth…

Old civilizations and secret organizations, political upheaval and diplomatic tensions. War on the horizon, possessions within the house. A goody-goody, open-minded, fried tofu of a protagonist who also happens to be a psychiatrist tells the story. How do you like tofu, by the way?

No wait, let me guess. You don’t. Who likes tofu? Fried tofu? Without seasoning? Fortunately, we have plenty of the latter. In the form of mystics and snakes.

But back to non-digressions, I was actually enamored of the India-Pakistan feuds and solutions and tensions being thrown across the court in the book. I mean, I can open up any news channel and there it is: Kashmir border fights, Pakistan shooting etc but seeing it handled reasonably, realistically with anticipated reactions of both Indians and Pakistanis in a book kinda blew me away.

Secondly, I dig old secrets no one’s discovered. Why do you think I’ve read two of Dan Brown‘s books? (Okay, it’s also so I can point at the TV and say I’ve READ that movie.) A Vision of Fire is full of that crock. And the theory behind it developed in a nice way, even if it’s progression in the book sorta pissed me off.

Dr I-WILL-SURVIVE surely and steadily goes on an intercontinental romp from Haiti to Iraq (I think, I forget) where she meets mystics who hand her answers on a silver platter.

Voodoo priestess: Herehere, lemme show you what you’re dealing with.

Hindu priest: Herehere, lemme tell you what you’re dealing with.

And we should know because, herehere, WE ARE SUCH MYSTICS and WE KNOW EVERYTHING. YOU DON’T HAVE TO WORK NO MORE.

Not that they, or she, actually say it.

A couple plane rides and yeah, she has the answers.

I like the answers though. And so we continue the story.

Whatever, after she saves the world in uninspired words and boring prose, Dr My-Name-Is-Who returns to her life but secret organizations butt in, hinting at clues for another book and most certainly not giving answers about their part in the story, other than wasting time and “trying” to allow for revelations.

So all in all, bad things, poor things, boring things but fun! I enjoyed it.

Honestly, don’t waste your time unless you are tired of heavy, complicated mysteries and that hidden stash of crap YA books and trashy romances (we all have it(and by that, I don’t mean *I* do)) is depleted. This is simply put, fluffy and a mind-relaxant. Not a good book for Halloween season, but afterwards, have your fill.

HAVE YOUR FILL OF THE TRUTH.
THE TRUTH IS NOT OUT THERE ANYMORE.

(Also, guys, nobody I know-and 90% people I know are Indians-calls anyone besides Gandhi “bapu,” and THAT only lasts till 3rd grade or something.)

Thank you for the review copy, Simon & Schuster!

doodle-230-mushu-attitudevector-flames-007

2 thoughts on “A Vision of Fire

  1. Dude, I’ve always loved the mystery kind akin to Dan Brown novels haha. While reading your review, I got so excited when you got to that part because I just eat that shit up, y’know? There’s nothing like ancient mysteries being uncovered that send chills up your spine… but when you got to the convenient reveals because WHOO WE ARE MYSTICS AND PRIESTS WE KNOW EVERYTHING! my excitement came crashing down BECAUSE THAT JUST SUCKS. I hate ite when everything is handed on a silver platter 😦 Like come on dudes, that’s boring stuff! Make the heroes and heroines work hard for it! Make us actually afraid!

    Now I don’t feel excited anymore D: Great review nonetheless ❤

    Faye at The Social Potato

Hush there. People will hear. Why don't you type it out instead?

